Finalists announced for Transpower STAR Awards 2012

12 July 2012

STAR Awards logoTranspower today announced the finalists in the 2012 Transpower STAR Awards which recognise achievement and excellence in safety in the electricity industry.

Chief Executive Patrick Strange said we have been emphasising the importance of safety in our business, both in the field and in the office, over the last two years. Part of developing a safety culture is the recognition we give to those who help us achieve and promote safety improvements.

“The Transpower STAR Awards (which stands for Safety Thanks and Recognition) help to recognise and reward people and teams who show leadership, consistency, minimisation of risk, innovation and performance in regard to safety. It’s a great opportunity to celebrate their achievements and dedication to keeping themselves and their colleagues safe”.

Aaron Tait-Jones, Transpower’s Safety and Health Manager said that we received over 105 applications this year and the applications were of a very high quality.

“The decisions the judges had to make were very difficult this year. So many of the applications were too close to make a decision therefore we have more finalists this year than we did last year.

“This is really positive as it demonstrates the quality of the applications and of the projects that are being undertaken throughout the industry to increase safety awareness and ensure the best possible safety outcomes for our teams,” he said.

The Awards are being held at the Auckland Museum on 9 August 2012.

The 2012 STAR Awards finalists are:

Category: Top Project

HVDC Pole 3 Haywards/Benmore - Transpower, Siemens, Transfield Services.
Auckland Harbour Bridge Cable Supports and Strengthening - Total Bridge Services.
Electronet Bealey River Realignment Project Team - Electronet.

Category: Best Safety and Health Performance Team

Scott Meehan, Bennie Vorster, Peter Wooler (Waipuna Bridge Strengthening Team) - Fulton Hogan.
Northern North Island Transmission Lines (N2 / NL3) Team - Transfield Services.
ABB Stratford Team - ABB.
Safety Culture Workshop Team - Transpower.

Category: Best Safety and Health Leadership - Individual

Craig Moore - Transfield Services.
Vern Rosieur - Northpower.
Lee Thorne, EHS Manager, Pole 3 Project, Haywards - Siemens.

Category: Top Depot or Office

Electrix, Transmission Lines Services (Palmerston North).
Transformer Group, Bunnythorpe Depot - Transfield.
Ashurst Engineering and Construction (AEC).

Category: Best Safety by Design for Projects or Maintenance

Haywards Synchronous Condenser Refurbishment Project - Transpower, AECOM, Beca, Transfield Services.
Design Lifecycle Project Team - Transpower.
Alliance Design Team - Northern Grid Alliance.
HVDC Tower Replacement Project - Electrix and Transpower.

Category: Apprentice of the Year

Sam Keely - Electrix Benmore.
Matthew Sarten - ABB Stratford.
Jordan Bilbe-Mills - Electrix Benmore.

Category: Best Safety Innovation

BEN-HAY-A Clearance Review Project Team - Transpower and Electrix.
Northpower Group Safety and HR Team - Northpower.
HVDC Pole 3 - Siemens and Transfield Services.