2016 STAR Awards winners

The 2016 STAR Awards were held at Rydges Auckland on 29 September to recognise safety excellence in New Zealand’s electricity transmission industry.

The STAR Awards – which stands for Safety Thanks and Recognition – are hosted by Transpower every two years to acknowledge companies and workers in the transmission industry who build, operate and maintain the National Grid. This year’s event was well attended by contributors from across New Zealand, with six worthy category winners taking home trophies.


Congratulations to these award winners:

Safety by Design Award – Shaun McGowan, Altitude Resurfacing Ltd

Safety Innovation Award – Northpower Tower Painting Team

Team Safety Award – Electrix MNG-ROS Marine Foundation Team

Workplace Safety Leadership Award – Jeremy Collins, Northpower

Commitment to Safety Award – Broadspectrum Lines Conductor Stringing Team

Supreme Award: Best Safety Culture – Northpower Safety Leadership Programme