2018 STAR Awards categories

The categories for the 2018 STAR Awards are listed below.


Safety Leadership (Individual)

Individual showing outstanding initiative and leadership in safety in the workplace 


Team Safety 

Team best representing our industry safety values 


Future of Safety (Trainee/Apprentice) 

A trainee or apprentice (under two years in the electricity industry at the time of nomination) who demonstrates outstanding commitment to health and safety in their workplace 


Safety Innovation/Design

Best safety innovation or design 


Wellbeing Initiative

Best initiative impacting worker wellbeing 


Supreme Award for Safety Culture (Organisation-wide)

Our top award is for the best initiative delivering improvement to workplace safety culture 


Details about each Award

Each Award finalist will receive a framed certificate, as well as a letter from our Chief Executive, Alison Andrew. The certificates are presented at our STAR Awards dinner, an exciting industry event that will be held in Hamilton in November 2018 where we will announce the winners of each category. More information about the event, including ticket purchase, will be available in September.

Details about the judging criteria for each award will be added to this website two weeks before nominations open on 1 July 2018.