2018 STAR Awards Finalists

Safety is one of our core values at Transpower, which is why every two years we look to acknowledge those who are demonstrating excellent safety behaviours and performance, and achieving an injury-free outcome for our people and our industry.

This year, our panel of independent judges had a pool of 56 nominations from which to choose finalists across six categories.

Congratulations to the following 2018 STAR Awards finalists:

Safety Innovation/Design Award

  • Scotty's Cradle, Fitzroy Engineering
  • Catenary Support Protection System, Electrix
  • Tractor and Concrete Bowl for Grillage, Electrix

Wellbeing Initiative Award

  • Psychological Health - Wellbeing Programme, Beca
  • Protecting Workers from Life-changing Health Risks, Cake Commercial Services
  • Mental Health Awareness Initiative, Electrix

Future of Safety Award


  • Debbie Kernohan, Electrix
  • Andrew Schurgers, Electrix

Safety Leadership Award


  • David Ridland, TBS Farnsworth
  • Johan Hepburn, Electrix
  • Dr Kirstine Hulse, Northpower

Team Safety Award

  • Tower Painting, Altitude Resurfacing Ltd
  • ABB PGGI Islington team, ABB
  • Bunnythorpe-Haywards A & B Reconductoring Project Team, Transpower

Supreme Award for Safety Culture

  • The ElectroNet Journey to be Safe from LTI, ElectroNet
  • Critical Risk and Verification Programme, Downer
  • Rising to the Challenge: An Engagement Journey, Northpower

We look forward to celebrating their contribution and the health and safety achievements of our industry at the STAR Awards Gala Dinner.


STAR Awards event

Our STAR Awards Gala Dinner will take place on the evening of 15 November 2018, at The Playhouse Theatre in Hamilton.

The dress code is: smart attire/evening wear.

Tickets can be purchased individually or by the table (10 seats).