Transpower announces Board appointments

01 December 2021

Transpower today announced the appointment of two new directors – Dr Keith Turner and Heather Simpson.

The two appointments fill vacancies on the Board after Sheridan Broadbent and Ilze Gotelli finished their terms earlier this year.

Dr Turner has more than 40 years’ experience in the electricity industry, having held senior executive positions in Meridian Energy (CEO), the former Electricity Corporation of New Zealand (COO), and its predecessor NZED.

His experience includes extensive participation in major reform initiatives that reshaped New Zealand's electricity system including being part of the Transpower Establishment Board which established Transpower in 1992.

Since 2008 he has been a Professional Director on a range of major boards across New Zealand and Australia including Fisher and Paykel Appliances (former Chair), Auckland International Airport (former Deputy Chair), Chorus, Trustpower, Team NZ and Australian-based Spark Infrastructure, Transgrid, Victoria Power Networks and South Australia Power Networks.

Dr Turner has a PhD in engineering, is a Distinguished Fellow of IPENZ and holds the Sir William Pickering Medal for Engineering Leadership.

Ms Simpson has extensive Government and policy experience including as Chief of Staff for the Prime Minister and Special Advisor to the United Nations Development programme.

Since then Ms Simpson has led a range of Government reviews and groups including a review of the New Zealand health and disability system and a new group to support the Ministry of Health in improving COVID-19 border security.

Ms Simpson holds a BA(Hons) in Economics.

Dr Turner’s and Ms Simpson’s appointments are effective 1 December 2021 and run through to 31 October 2024.

For further information, please contact:

Transpower Head of Communications, Diana Price on 021 354 026.