STAR Awards past winners

The STAR Awards – which stands for Safety Thanks and Recognition – are hosted by Transpower every two years to acknowledge companies and workers in the transmission industry who build, operate and maintain the National Grid. 

2021 STAR Award winners

In 2021, our STAR Awards Gala Dinner took place on the evening of 11 April 2021, at the Maritime Room in Auckland and the Public Trust Hall in Wellington.

The winners were:

STAR Supreme Award: Matt Iorangi - Northpower

Safety Innovation/Design Award: Conductor Catcher - Ventia

Hauora Wellbeing Initiative Award: Te Ara Whanake - Downer

Future of Safety Award: Co-winners: Lucy Bain - ElectroNet and Vili Hansen - Ventia

Frontline Leadership Award: Simon Norton - Ventia

Team Safety Award: Ventia - Rangitata River Event Response

Thought Leadership Award: Matt Iorangi - Northpower 

Thought Leadership Award (Judges' Commendation): Steve Notman - Transpower



2018 STAR Award winners

In 2018, our STAR Awards Gala Dinner took place on the evening of 15 November 2018, at The Playhouse Theatre in Hamilton.

The winners were:

Safety Innovation/Design Award - Scotty's Cradle, Fitzroy Engineering

Wellbeing Initiative Award - Protecting Workers from Life-Changing Health Risks, Cake Commercial Services

Future of Safety Award - Andrew Schurgers, Electrix

Safety Leadership Award - Dr Kirstine Hulse, Northpower

Team Safety Award - ABB PGGI Islington team, ABB

Supreme Award for Safety Culture - Rising to the Challenge: An Engagement Journey, Northpower


2016 STAR Award winners

The 2016 STAR Awards were held at Rydges Auckland on 29 September to recognise safety excellence in New Zealand’s electricity transmission industry.

Congratulations to these award winners:

Safety by Design Award – Shaun McGowan, Altitude Resurfacing Ltd

Safety Innovation Award – Northpower Tower Painting Team

Team Safety Award – Electrix MNG-ROS Marine Foundation Team

Workplace Safety Leadership Award – Jeremy Collins, Northpower

Commitment to Safety Award – Broadspectrum Lines Conductor Stringing Team

Supreme Award: Best Safety Culture – Northpower Safety Leadership Programme


2014 award winners

Best Safety by Design for Projects or Maintenance
PRM-TEE Transmission Line Works, Project team - Transpower and Electrix (pictured)

Best Safety and Health Performance Team
Phil Gardyne and the Mobile Substation Team - Electronet Transmission

Top Depot or Office
NS2 Otahuhu Substation Depot - Transfield Services

Best Safety Innovation
Wairakei Ring Project Team - Transpower

Best Safety and Health Leadership – Individual
John Wilson - Transpower (pictured)

Apprentice of the Year
David Sullivan – Transfield

Top Project
Electrix NAaN Project Team – Electrix


2012 award winners

Best Safety by Design for Projects or Maintenance
Winner: Transpower, AECOM, Beca and Transfield for the Haywards Synchronous Condenser Refurbishment Project

Best Safety and Health Performance – Team
Winner:  Scott Meehan, Bernie Vorster, Peter Wooler from Fulton Hogan for the Waipuna Bridge Project

Best Safety and Health Leadership – Individual
Winner: Craig Moore, Project Site Manager for Transfield Services, for work on the Oteranga Bay – Haywards Reconductoring Project

Top Depot or Office
Winner: Ashhurst Engineering and Construction

Top Project – Safety and Health Maintenance
Winner: Electronet for the Bealey River Realignment Project

Apprentice of the Year
Winner: Sam Keeley, Electrix

Best Safety Innovation
Winner: Benmore – Haywards Clearance Review Project Team - Electrix and Transpower