About the STAR Awards 2023

STAR Awards banner


Let’s celebrate the champions of health, safety and wellbeing working across the nation’s electricity grid.

It's time to lift up the individuals, teams and initiatives that are bringing best practice to the job – and strengthening our sector because of it. This is their time to shine!

We appreciate you taking the time to nominate an individual, team or initiative – making your nomination means that you are contributing to positive changes in the health, safety and wellbeing of everyone in our sector.

If you have any questions, please email us at [email protected] – we’re here to help!

What are the STAR Awards?

Transpower's STAR Awards show our thanks and give recognition to the people who build, operate and maintain the National Grid – the people who are keeping the lights on for everyone in New Zealand.

The STAR Awards – which stands for ‘Safety Thanks and Recognition’ – are held every two years and champion best practice in our field.

The gala dinner to celebrate our finalists and winners will be held on Wednesday 11 October at the Auckland War Memorial Museum. We will also be streaming the awards ceremony, so whanau and colleagues who aren’t able to be with us on the evening, are still able to celebrate with us.

Timeline for the 2023 STAR Awards:

24 April 2023 - Nominations Open

23 June 2023 - Nominations Close

July 2023 - Judges meet to select finalists and winners

1 August 2023 - Finalists announced

11 October 2023 - Gala evening at the Auckland War Memorial Museum


Here is a video from the 2021 awards, which showcases the gala evening where we heard about our inspiring winners and finalists.